FJSC Nominates PEPC Chair Tsammani, 21 Others For Elevation To Supreme Court



Twenty-two Justices of the Court of Appeal have been nominated by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC), for elevation to the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Consequently, FJSC has sent the list of the 22 nominees to the National Judicial Council (NJC) for ratification and onward recommendation to President Bola Tinubu.

The names of the nominees were revealed in an FJSC document released on Thursday. The nominees include the chairman of the defunct Presidential Election Petitions Court (PEPC), Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani, who hails from Bauchi State.

The North-Central region has six nominees, while the South-West and South-South regions have two nominees each. The South-East region also has six nominees, and the North-East has two nominees.

The development is coming after the retirement of Justices Amina Augie and Mohammed Dattijo, which left the Supreme Court with only 10 serving Justices.

While some of the nominees were tagged ‘Priority’, others were tagged ‘Reserve’. By implication, the ‘reserve’ nominees are alternate in case of any eventuality.

See the full list of the 22 nominated Justices below:


1. Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State) – Priority

1A.Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) – Reserve

2. Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State) – Priority

2A. Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State) – Reserve

3. Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State) – Priority

3A. Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State) – Reserve


1. Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State) – Priority

1A. Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State) – Reserve


1. Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State) – Priority

1A. Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State) – Reserve


1. Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State) – Priority

1A. Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau) – Reserve

2. Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State) – Priority

2A. Hon. Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) – Reserve

3. Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State) – Priority

3A. Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State) – Reserve


1. Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State) – Priority

1A. Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State) – Reserve


1. Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State) – Priority

1A. Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) – Reserve

2. Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State) – Priority

2A. Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State) – Reserve


Lone PDP Member In Yobe Assembly Defects To APC

Previous article

Institute honours ex-EFCC chair Magu over role in P&ID case

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Local