Buhari asks Senate to confirm eight new Supreme Court Justices

Buhari asks Senate to confirm eight new Supreme Court Justices

President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR

President Muhammadu Buhari has asked the Senate to approve the appointment of eight new Supreme Court justices.

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, at plenary on Tuesday, September 29 2020, read a letter saying the appointment was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

President Buhari said his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M.M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

Buhari, also on Tuesday, sought the Senate approval for the appointment of non-career ambassadors designate.

They are Muhammad Manta (Niger) and Yesufu Yunusa (Yobe).

The nominees according to Buhari, would replace Air Commodore Peter Gana (retd.) and Alhaji Yusuf Muhammad  who were earlier nominated to the Senate for confirmation.


FrieslandCampina WAMCO completes purchase of Nutricima’s Dairy Business, positions its business in Nigeria for growth

Previous article

Ekiti Assembly upgrades College of Education to university

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News