8 new Supreme Court judges sworn in by CJN 


8 new Supreme Court judges sworn in by CJN 

Eight Supreme Court judges were on Friday, November 6, sworn in by Chief Justice of Nigeria, Tanko Muhammad, increasing the number from 12 to 20.

Justice Muhammad presided over the swearing-in ceremony in Abuja on Friday.

Among the newly sworn-in judges are Lawal Garba (northwest), Helen Ogunwumiju (southwest), Abdu Aboki (northwest), and M. M. Saulawa (northwest).

Others are Adamu Jauro (northeast), Samuel Oseji (south-south), Tijani Abubakar (northeast) and Emmanuel Agim (south-south).

Recall that barely two months after the president elevated four judges from the northern region as apex court justices, eight more Nigerian judges were confirmed by the Nigerian Senate.

Their confirmation as justices of the Supreme Court was made during the plenary of the lawmakers on Tuesday, October 13, following the letter of President Muhammadu Buhari making such request.

Meanwhile, CJN on Monday, May 4, directed all heads of courts to abide by previous circulars shutting down courts to hear only urgent, essential and time-bound matters

He said this would be pending the outcome of a committee set up to come up with recommendations on how to leverage on technology and hold the business of courts even during the COVID-19 period.

The circular dated May 4, with Ref. No. NJC/CIR/HOC/II/658 was issued to all heads of court in the federal and state judiciaries.



Court grants CBN’s request to freeze accounts of 19 #EndSARS protesters

Previous article

Imo-North Senatorial: Court orders INEC to replace Ibezim with Ararume as APC candidate

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News