Obasa re-elected as Lagos Speaker for third term

Dr Mudashiru Ajayi Obasa has been re-elected as the Speaker of the 10th Lagos State House of Assembly.

Obasa, who represents Agege 01 constituency, is a six-term lawmaker. He will be presiding over the assembly for the third consecutive term after first winning election as speaker in 2015.

He was nominated by the lawmaker representing Ifako Ijaiye 01, Hon Adewale Temitope Adedeji, after the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu issued the proclamation for the House.

Obasa’s nomination, seconded by the lawmaker representing Epe II, Ogunkelu Sylvester Oluwadahunsi, was unanimous.

The 10th Lagos State House of Assembly comprises 40 members. It is dominated by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which has 38 members while the Labour Party has two members.

While 20 of the lawmakers are returning, the other 20 are first-term lawmakers.


Uchechi Ojo
Uchechi Ojo, is a Lagos-born and based writer, newscaster and voice-over artist. A versatile and committed journalist with the yearning to make a difference in the industry. She writes balanced, informative and interesting stories. Uchechi has the ability to interact and listen with rapt attention, excellent time management and great communication skills while paying attention to detail. She is very approachable and a good team player. Instagram | LinkedIn

Alleged N6.9bn Fraud: Court grants Fayose permission to travel abroad for medicals

Previous article

JUST IN: Tinubu swears Akume in as SGF

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News